2012 NFL Preview: AFC

Every season promises to be a great one, but I am especially excited for this season.  How will Peyton Manning play outdoors?  What will Tim Tebow do to take Mark Sanchez’s job?  Should the Bills be taken seriously?  Will the Texans take the next step?  Are the Steelers done?  Here is my preview of the 2012 NFL season; AFC style.

**I am taking the Jets first overall in The Bad Quarterback League.  Bill Simmons is a genius.

AFC East 

  1. Patriots (14-2)
  2. Jets (9-7)
  3. Bills (8-8)
  4. Dolphins (3-13)

No surprise here.  The Pats are locked and loaded with what I think is the most explosive offense in football.  Tom Brady finally has a deep threat he can trust again in Brandon Lloyd (hopefully he helps lead my fantasy team to victory), and they have a much improved defense thanks to the draft.  The Jets are the most interesting team maybe in all of sports because of a Mr. Tim Tebow.  The question isn’t if, but when will Tebow take the job from Sanchez.  I believe it is after a 1-3 start, and a Mr. Tebow will then lead the Jets to a miraculous playoff berth thanks to a halftime prayer that leads to a 4th quarter comeback week 17 against the Bills (take that John Elway)!  The Bills are a trendy sleeper in this division, but I think they are one year away.  They have a nicely built, up-and-coming defense, and some interesting offensive weapons, but  I say give it one year.  And the Dolphins aren’t even worth my time to talk about.  It’s a shame they don’t get wins for having a hot wife… Ryan Tannehill would be the MVP.

AFC North  

  1. Ravens (11-5)
  2. Steelers (10-6)
  3. Bengals (7-9)
  4. Browns (4-12)

Despite the loss of Terrell Suggs, the Ravens are still the Ravens.  I do not expect this “aerial assault” from Joe Flacco that many other experts are predicting, but I do believe the Ravens offense will be more formidable because they will have to be…..  The Steelers are still the Steelers, but I am starting to see the window beginning to close.  The defense is aging, and their running back situation isn’t quite ideal.  But still, I’m never going to doubt the Steelers.  Especially after Super Bowl XVIII… Ugh….. I like the Bengals nucleus, but just not this year.  Andy Dalton will take a semi-step backwards, but A.J. Green will take a step forward.  This was a very underrated defense last year that will keep them in games and let them stumble into 7 wins…..  The Browns are atrocious.  I feel for the city of Cleveland.  They draft the next Adrian Peterson, and he has all ready had two knee surgeries.  Brandon Weeden would have some promise if he was 22, but since he is 28 he is no more useful than Tim Tebow’s good looks (sorry Timmy).   God, give Cleveland a break.  Maybe next year?

AFC South 

  1. Texans (12-4)
  2. Titans (8-8)
  3. Colts (6-10)
  4. Jaguars (5-11)

The Texans may be the most complete team in all of football.  They have a tenacious defense, two exceptional running backs that can control the clock, a smart, polished quarterback and a stud wide receiver (if he stays healthy).  Watch out for them… Jake Locker has a lot of promise.  I like what I have seen from him this preseason, and also like the weapons they have surrounded him with.  The Titans will be a quietly consistent team that could be really good in a couple of years…. Wow.  Andrew Luck.  Everything about him really is the real deal.  I cannot wait to watch this kid grow for the next decade.  How is it possible that Indy could get the two most transcendent quarterback prospects in a row?… Although the Jags have looked improved this preseason, I do not believe it translates to the regular season.  Blaine Gabbert shows flashes every now and then, but I don’t see it.  Their defense and MJD will win them a few games though, based on pure muscle mass and girth.

AFC West

  1. Broncos (10-6)
  2. Chiefs (9-7)
  3. Chargers (8-8)
  4. Raiders (7-9)

Barring a Peyton Manning injury, I see the Broncos taking this division.  Eric Decker and Demaryius Thomas are good enough receivers for Peyton, and I like the Broncos defense more than others.  Von Miller anchors an underrated pass rush, and Champ Bailey (though aged) still anchors the secondary…. Jamaal Charles and Peyton Hillis are in for HUGE, and I mean huge years.  With the running game controlling the clock, and a Romeo Crennel coordinated defense, the Chiefs will sneak up on some folks this season…. I am sick of the Chargers.  Every year I have to hear how and why they are going to make the Super Bowl, and every year they fall short.  They have become the AFC version of the Cowboys.  Although this year there hasn’t been as much hype, but I still have no faith.  Maybe I should call up Tim Tebow?  Hehehe Tebow jokes never get old…. Darren Mcfadden is a man amongst boys.  I am just not so sure if he can stay healthy… If this team had Carson Palmer in his mid-twenties it would be a different story.  The Raiders could be a scary team, that has the potential to win the division.  Key word is potential.

AFC Wild Card Weekend

(3) Ravens vs. (6) Jets– Could you imagine Tebow taking down ANOTHER AFC North power in the first round of the playoffs???

(4) Broncos vs. (5) Steelers– Deja vu anyone??  I bet anything Manning throws for 316 yards this game.

AFC Divisional Playoffs

(1) Patriots vs. (4) Broncos– Ahh the good ol’ days… A healthy Brady vs. a healthy Manning in the postseason.

(2) Texans vs. (3) Ravens– Rematch of last year’s divisional game, I see a different outcome here…

AFC Championship

(1) Patriots vs. (2) Texans– I reallllly want to go out on a limb here and pick the Texans, but I can’t bring myself to do it.  The Pats are at home.  Close game though.

AFC Champion 

New England Patriots (boring I know)

**NFC preview to come tomorrow. Stay tuned!

Posted in NFL

Leave a comment