2012 NFC Preview

Just like I promised, here is my 2012 NFC preview!

NFC East 

Giants (10-6)

Eagles (10-6)

Cowboys (8-8)

Redskins (7-9)

I don’t really understand why so many people are picking against the Giants winning the NFC East this year?  I know that this team will respond like it always does when their backs are against the wall.  They do however fall into strange spells where they lose 3 or 4 games that they should easily win throughout the season.  Almost like they save something for the playoffs purposely… The Eagles have all of the talent in the world to make a Super Bowl run. If Michael Vick can stay upright and all of his weapons can stay healthy I really like their chances this season.  Last season was a wake up call for them, and I believe the loss of Andy Reid’s son will give them extra reason to play inspired football… Ahh the Cowboys.  Where to start?  They are an extremely talented team year in and year out, but continue to underperform.  I have given up on picking them to make any noise during the season until they prove to me that they can.  They are however an excellent team to play with in Madden… I love RGIII.  I think he is going to have a great career, and be a Randal Cunningham type player.  Their defense is for sure on the rise, and have all of the capabilities to be one of the best in the league.  Watch out for the Redskins in years to come…

NFC North

Packers (12-4)

Bears (10-6)

Lions (9-7)

Vikings (4-12)

Aaron Rodgers needs to come back down to Earth at some point right?  Wrong.  Everything this guy does he makes look so easy (including reeling in the ladies).  The cheesehead’s defense will be much improved, partly because of the draft, and partly because they underperformed last season.  The Packers are a lock for this division…. The addition of Brandon Marshall I have to admit is a big one.  Getting Jay Cutler a top-tier wide receiver (especially one he already has a relationship with) will help Jay reach some of the potential we saw in him while he was in Denver.  The defense is always respectable, and capable of a big play at any time.  I see them being a potentially scary team in the playoffs…  Megatron is ridiculous, but I don’t think he will be enough to lead the Lions back to the postseason.  Matthew Stafford’s arm might fall off by the end of the year because he will be asked to throw it so any times.  If the Lions had even a decent running game to protect their defense, I could see them making some noise.  But not this year (please don’t stomp me Ndamukong Suh)…. Believe it or not, the Vikings actually have some nicer pieces than you would expect.  Percy Harvin is a really interesting player, Adrian Peterson of course, and then Jared Allen and Brian Robison (yes I said Brian Robison) on the defensive side of the ball.  Christian Ponder just doesn’t do it for me.  This division is too good, and I think the Vikings will be left behind.  Hey maybe they should bring back the great Brett Favre for one last shot?? Any takers?  No??  Sorry Brett.

NFC South

Saints (11-5)

Falcons (9-7)

Panthers (9-7)

Buccaneers (6-10) 

Drew Brees has a huge chip on his shoulder.  After receiving the largest contract in football history, I see no reason why Brees wouldn’t want to show why he deserves it.  The Saints are a leadership-oriented football team, and I believe the leadership of Brees alone keeps this team on track and division title worthy…. The Falcons are quite the enigma to me.  You could argue that they have the most balanced football team, but yet year after year they do nothing off significance in the playoffs.  For their sake, I hope they take more chances down the field and open up the playbook for Matt Ryan.  I just think Mike Smith plays more of a conservative style that will end up costing them a chance to sniff the postseason this year.  Julio Jones is a MAN though, he looks like something unreal out of an Alien movie…. Greg Schiano is a promising football coach that I could see having Jim Harbaugh-like success in the future.  Although they made some nice free agent signings, I think the Bucs will be one of those teams that compete and play hard in every game, but lose a bunch of close ones.  Thank goodness Josh Freeman shaved his fro, that has to be the reason he was so bad last season.

NFC West 

49ers (11-5)

Cardinals (7-9)

Seahawks (7-9)

Rams (4-12)

It pains me to say it, but the 49ers will again be the class of this division.  They are the most boring team in football to watch, but that’s why they win, they make smart decisions.  They refuse to beat themselves and will wear their opponent down until they eventually end up winning the game.  Damn you Jim Harbaugh.  I miss Mike Singletary….  I am not quite sure where to start when talking about the Cardinals.  I think they gave themselves more of a chance by naming Skelton their quarterback (he did beat the 49ers last season), but I’m not sure if it is enough when they have no offensive line.  I really am enjoying watching this defense grow though.  If only we had another corner opposite of Patrick Peterson… Thanks Kevin Kolb…. The Seahawks could be a scary team that may even overtake the 49ers.  To me, it all hinges on the shoulders of Russel Wilson.  If he is what we saw this preseason, along with that defense, and the bowling ball that is Marshawn Lynch, they could be frightening.  And then we hear a Pete Carrol “ra-ra” pre-game speech and lose all of our fright…. Jeff Fisher scares me.  I can’t count a Jeff Fisher coached team out.  Luckily, I just don’t think they have the right personnel…Yet.  Sam Bradford will be better, and they will run a smart-brand of offense (much like the 49ers).  Plus, Jeff Fisher has the unquestionable powers of the mullet on his side.

 

NFC Wild Card Weekend 

(3) 49ers vs. (6) Eagles- What a great matchup; this defense against Michael Vick and his explosiveness.

(4)Giants vs. (5) Bears- Time for the Giants to turn it on again in the playoffs.  They won’t lose at home.

NFC Divisional Playoffs

(1)Packers vs. (6) Eagles- Rodgers is too much for the Eagles defense.  Andy Reid does use his belly to keep warm though.

(2)Saints vs. (4) Giants- The Giants never make back to back playoff runs.  Saints at home.

NFC Championship Game

(1)Packers vs. (2) Saints- Saints don’t adjust to the frozen tundra and lose a close one thanks to a Drew Brees injury.  At home, viewers can hear Sean Peyton scream “Hey! They put a bounty on him!!”

NFC Champion 

Green Bay Packers

Super Bowl 

New England Patriots vs. Green Bay Packers

In maybe the most boring super bowl matchup in the history of predictions, I see Aaron Rodgers raising the Lombardi Trophy for the second time.  Ultimately the Packers win on a missed game tying field goal by Patriots’ kicker Stephen Gostowski (karma for the Vinatieri super bowls).  Somewhere Brett Favre is crying because he will be forever forgotten in Packer lore.

Champion

Green Bay Packers (I’m really out on a limb this year)

Posted in NFL

Leave a comment