What?

Kevin Kolb had to be depended on again, AND Larry Fitzgerald had only one reception for 4 yards?  You are telling me the Cardinals would beat the New England Patriots despite both of those things actually happening? What?  Even in my wildest dreams I thought there was no way that the Cardinals would have the balls to go into to New England and steal a game.  Of course, they made it interesting in only the fashion that Cardinals fans are accustomed to.  So what did we really learn about this team?  And what should be expected of them going forward?

The Defense is Legit

This defense is fast, I might even go as far as to call it the fastest defense in the league.     Personally, I believe it all starts with the play of Darryl Washington (evidenced by the fat contract extension he just picked up).

*Can somebody tell me where I would be able to find a Darryl Washington jersey?  I have checked every website and store I can think of but haven’t been able to come across one.  And pretty soon he will be a well-known player, so the initial woah reaction (or as the kids say, swag) I am looking to receive when I wear it will fade away.

Check out this stat: the Cardinals had 7 tackles for loss on Sunday.  7 TACKLES FOR LOSS.  Darnell Dockett and Caleus Campbell were penetrating more than Aaron Rodgers at the Espys (think about it… There it is). They were able to create havoc for Tom Brady all day.

Kevin Kept His Momentum

It wasn’t pretty, but it worked.  There are plays where Kolb looks like a savior, and there are other plays that make me scratch my head.  When the ball comes out of his hand right, I see what the Cardinals saw in him when they traded a second round draft pick and an up and coming corner that would be perfect alongside Patrick Peterson (cough cough).  I can’t say that I wasn’t impressed with the way Kolb ran in that quarterback sneak to increase the lead in the fourth quarter.  I hope he keeps it going.

Where is the Running Game?

Besides some interesting runs from Patrick Peterson out of the so-called “Pat Cat” formation, Beanie Wells and Ryan Williams have been pedestrian at best.  I’m sure much of it has to do with the revolving door known as the Cardinal’s offensive line, but still.  If Beanie and Ryan can figure out a way to find some holes, this team could make a serious run at the division.

All in all, I am one happy Cardinal fan on this Monday evening.  The cool thing is that the Patriots had no business even being in position to win that game, and normally it is the Cardinals who have no business being in games.  They out played the the New England Patriots.  I never thought I would mutter that sentence in what is known as the the Kevin Kolb era.

Posted in NFL

Leave a comment