Remembering The Office

As I prepare for the soon-to-be dreadful farewell end to one of my personal favorite shows, The Office, I began to think about the great moments it has given me.  You know, when it actually made me laugh.  I researched video clips, thought about my own favorites, and somehow narrowed it down to ten.  Whether it’s Michael being politically incorrect, or babbling on about nonsense, Jim thinking of inspiring new ways to mess with a human, Dwight being Dwight, or the introduction of the most underrated character on the show, Mose Schrute, the show has had its share of moments.  So now, I give you my top ten funniest moments from The Office.

*Each number has a link to a Youtube video so you are able to reflect on the laughter we all once enjoyed.  You’re welcome.

10. Michael Prank Calls Ryan 

The thing I love most about this video is being able to see what cell phones used to look like.  Oh and listening to Michael’s impression of Michael Jackson calling from “Wonderland.”  The fact that Michael thought he was hilarious adds to the humor.

9. Dwight’s Speech

Epic.  The only way to describe this speech.  Dwight goes off using old school speech giving tactics taught to him by Jim (who claimed he was a public speaking major in college).  The comparison of warriors to paper salesman is classic, and the fist-pounding on the podium really sets the tone.  I’m surprised he didn’t break his wrist or pass out from loss of breathe.

8. Kevin is the Kool-Aid Man

What made this scene so great was the quick delivery of the joke.  It was one of those where I had to rewind and relive it because I wasn’t exactly sure what had happened.  Kevin has had his share of great moments, but this one reigns supreme in my heart.  Okay fine… This is the only one I could find a video for.

7. EYYYYYYYYY!

I’m not sure if most people will find this as funny as I do, but I don’t care.  For those of you that don’t know, the unfamiliar man in the scene is a phone salesman.  Jim says EYYYYY in order to distract Michael from even talking to the salesman (because inevitably Michael would buy something useless).  The randomness of it, and Michael’s face gets me every time.  And the fact that Dwight came into the picture with swoop-in makes it all that much better.  Highly underrated moment.  You heard it here.

6. The World of Creed

Creed Bratton.  My dad’s favorite character.  There wasn’t one moment that stood out to me more than others, so I decided to give you a montage.  I forgot about about the time when he had to act as manager when Michael left.  They really should have ran with that storyline.  In my opinion, the show would be better today if Creed was the manager.  Wrap your head around that possibility.

5. That’s What She Said

That’s what she said is still very much apart of my life today, and I must thank Michael Scott for helping make that possible.  I love the one where Jim mouths it before Michael actually says it.  Or when Michael turned the tables on us and famously said “That’s what she said, or he said?”  Television history right there.

4. Michael Does Diversity Day

It is rare when the second episode of a t.v. series gives a classic moment to relive even when the series is nine seasons old (3 season too long).  But this is the case here.  The clip is short, so I would recommend watching the entire episode to relive the greatness.

3. Jim vs. Dwight

The show took a turn for the worst when they decided it would be smart to have less Jim and Dwight stories.  The only explanation I have for the writers is that they ran out of ideas, which I don’t blame them for, but I mean come on….  Everyone knew that outside of the outrageousness of Michael, that the Jim vs. Dwight storyline was the best part of the show.  My personal favorite was when Jim stared at Dwight’s forehead and Dwight freaks out and says “Meet my eye line Jim!”

2. Michael vs. Toby

Many may be surprised to see Michael vs. Toby ahead of Jim vs. Dwight, but watching the video really made me realize how funny Michael was in these situations.  The ridicule, especially for Michael’s character, is so outrageous.  The best part was that there was no real reason why Michael disliked Toby so much?  Steve Carrell really showed his comedic genius best when he was in the process of hating Toby in my opinion.  I miss that guy…

1. The Introduction of Mose

Hands down funniest moment in Office history.  Not even close.  First of all, who runs like that?  Second of all, where did he come from?  And third of all, how was he keeping pace with the car?!  Random comedy is the best comedy, and nothing was more random than that.  I love how after he leaves the picture the first time, he shows up on the other side of the car.  Thank you Mose, I cannot wait to get to know more of you in the future.

So there you have it, the top ten funniest moments from The Office.  The sad thing is that I don’t think there will be any moments from the upcoming season that will top the ones I just described.  Buzz-kill.  I very much am looking forward to watching The Office just because it is recorded on my DVR automatically, and I don’t know how to turn that off.  It looks really hard.  Oops, that’s what she said.  Happy season 9 everyone.


Leave a comment